Group Permissions and Access Codes

General Group Management

Groups are created in Path to manage privileges to courses, events, and content. Members of a group have access to all the content, events, and courses as defined by the administrator. As an administrator you can assign, edit, or revoke permissions for a group or an individual.

Getting There

From the main navigation, go to Admin > Groups.

General Group Management

From the Account Settings page, the GROUP SETTINGS section displays all existing groups, and gives you the option to add a new group.

General Group Management

Adding New Groups

To add a new group, click the Add Group button in the top-right. A new window will appear.

General Group Management

Name

Enter a name for the group.

Default User Group

You can have one default user group. To set the default user group, select the checkbox titled Make this group all users are placed in by default.

Every new user not added to a group by access code, single sign on, or self-designation at registration will be automatically placed in the default group.

A good example is having two groups - Member and Non-Member. Here you can set Non-Member as the default group. Any user not added to Member will automatically become a Non-Member.

Default Content Groups

You can have as many default content groups as you like. To set a default content group, select the checkbox titled Automatically add this group when creating content

If you need certain group assignment(s) on most or all of your content, you can save yourself some clicking by setting this default.

Using two groups as an example - Member and Non-Member: Let’s say all of your content is available to Members, but only some of it is available to Non-Members. Setting Member as a default group will make sure it’s pre-selected on each piece of content you create. This way you don’t have to select Member each time you create a new event, course item, etc.

Click Create Group to add the new group.

Managing Groups

All existing groups in Path are listed under GROUP SETTINGS.

Group-Functions

Editing Groups

Click the Edit button to edit a group.

This is where you can also make any existing group a default group.

Users

Click the Users button to manage users in a group.

Permissions

Click the Permissions button to manage the permissions of a group.

Delete

Click the Delete button to delete a group.

Any member not added to a group becomes a member of the default group automatically.

Managing Available Content

Content can be made available to a group in two ways as described below.

From the Admin Panel

To set access rights to available content all at once from the Admin panel,

  1. Navigate to the Admin tab and click Groups
  2. Click the Permissions button for the group you want to adjust permissions for
  3. Select content under Group Content, or click Select All to select all the content at once
  4. Click Update Permissions

Group Users

Individually while Creating/Editing Content

Access to content can also be set individually when content is edited or created from the Advanced tab as shown below.

Advanced tab group ids

To limit whether logged out users can see the the content, slide the Guest viewable toggle on or off. For more information, visit Guest Viewable and Guest Access.

Managing Users in a Group

After setting up and applying groups across content in Path, you can also manage individual participants in Path to further adjust access to content. This section covers how participants are maintained and given access to content within a group.

Managing All Users through the Admin Panel

To manage access for all users at once,

  1. Navigate to the Admin tab and click Groups
  2. Select a group under Group Settings
  3. Click Users button

Group Users

Use the Hide users not in group toggle to focus just on participants currently in the group, or turn it off to see all participants. Use the Search feature if the list is large.

Hide and Search Users

Participants will be added or removed automatically when you select/deselect them.

Individually through the Admin Panel

To manage participants one by one,

  1. Navigate to the Admin tab and click Users
  2. Under User Settings tab, find the participant in the list. A search field is available to speed up the process
  3. Click the Edit button next to the participant as shown below

Editing Users

Now you can easily manage on the individual level. Move your participant into the SELECTED GROUPS by clicking the + symbol next to the group name.

Selecting Groups for Users

Don’t forget to click Update User after you’ve made your changes to apply the settings to the individual.

By Entering an Access Code

You can also allow participants to enter a group by entering an access code as shown below.

Access Code Screen

Before you can use an access code to allow participants access to content, you must first enable access codes in the Registration Questions section.

By Choosing a Group During Sign Up

You can also allow participants to enter a group through the sign up process.

Group Sign Up

Before you can use the sign up process to allow participants access to content, you must first enable the feature in the Registration Questions section.

From an SSO Integration

If you have SSO integration enabled, contact a path LMS representative before editing your groups.